Towards Sustainable
Healthcare Systems in Africa

Webinar series 2021

Theme lineAfrica-graphicCurated by AHB

About AHBS

The Africa Health Business Symposium (AHBS) is a pan-African conference that sits at the heart of the African healthcare scene. Via AHBS, AHB has set the pace towards constructive working relationships between the public and private sector, creating a more enabling environment for the private health sector on the African continent. In 2020, via a virtual platform, the AHBS brought together key stakeholders in the healthcare development sector, including influential public and business leaders, experts, investors and entrepreneurs for a series of webinars themed Partnerships for resilient health systems’ – facilitating the sharing of insights and lessons learned.

AHBS TIMELINE

Series calendar

Date
Topic
Discussion Points
Thursday 25th February

EST: 7:30am – 9:00am
CAT: 2:30pm– 4:00pm
GMT:12:30pm – 2:00pm
EAT: 3:30pm – 5:00pm
One year on: What have we learned since news of COVID-19 first broke?

• Key lessons learned from the COVID-19 pandemic

• Innovative partnerships towards ensuring the continued delivery of health services during and post the current COVID-19 pandemic

Thursday 25th March

EST: 8:30am – 9:00am
CAT: 2:30pm– 4:00pm
GMT:12:30pm – 2:00pm
EAT: 3:30pm – 5:00pm
Health Business Investment in Africa

• Uncovering market opportunities to stimulate access to capital

• Addressing risks and barriers in health investments

Thursday 8th April

EST: 8:30am – 10:00am
CAT: 2:30pm– 4:00pm
GMT:12:30pm – 2:00pm
EAT: 3:30pm – 5:00pm
Africa’s readiness for the COVID-19 vaccination drive

• Challenges in vaccine access, procurement, delivery and uptake

• Public-private partnerships and how they can take us forward in achieving vaccine coverage

Thursday 13th May

EST: 8:30am – 10:00am
CAT: 2:30pm– 4:00pm
GMT:12:30pm – 2:00pm
EAT: 3:30pm – 5:00pm
The future of health: Unlocking the potential of Artificial Intelligence for Healthcare in Africa

• What building blocks are necessary to deliver a sustainable AI future for African healthcare systems?

• Learn from organisations that are changing health outcomes in Africa through AI

Thursday 24th June

EST: 8:30am – 10:00am
CAT: 2:30pm– 4:00pm
GMT:12:30pm – 2:00pm
EAT: 3:30pm – 5:00pm
The power of partnerships: Development partners value creation in the healthcare sector

• Maximising the role of development partners in health towards sustainable development goals

• Accounts of success and practical actions of cross-sector partnerships

Thursday 9th September

EST: 8:30am – 10:00am
CAT: 2:30pm– 4:00pm
GMT:12:30pm – 2:00pm
EAT: 3:30pm – 5:00pm
Healthcare policy harmonisation and collaboration amongst governments – A strategy towards sustainable development in Africa

• Assessing the progression of UHC delivery

• Enhancing the role of the private sector

Thursday 21st October

EST: 8:30am – 10:00am
CAT: 2:30pm– 4:00pm
GMT:12:30pm – 2:00pm
EAT: 3:30pm – 5:00pm
NCDs: An urgent call for primary health care system strengthening in sub-Saharan Africa

• The role of UHC in prioritising NCDs, including the design and implementation of health policies and essential health service packages

• HRH strategies to meet the challenges of the double disease burden and future health system needs

A snapshot of the 2020 webinar series

A wide reach

delegates
organization
AHB world map

A broad spectrum of organisations attended

A broad spectrum of organisations attended

ahbs attendants
ahbs eco system

Webinar series 2021

The power of partnerships: Development partners value creation in the healthcare sector

June 24th, 3:30pm – 5:00pm EAT

2021 AHBS EVENT PARTNERS

STRATEGIC PARTNERS

X